Geoff goes to Solihull

“Shall I shan’t I. I’ll just check the weather again……still raining. I’ve been ill, I’ll give it a miss”

geoff
“Nah, I’ll go!”

A mid week crit in Solihull has become the place where I top up some missed training and racing whilst I’m away on the rigs. It has been quite a productive venue for me and after convincing my self I should go, it proved to be just that again.
Signing on, the race comm asked if I minded having the lucky number 13, after the previous 10 riders shunned it. No such thing as bad luck because of a number in my eyes, I took the risk. It even stayed upright as I pinned it to my skinsuit! Must’ve been confident.
The race started with a sighting lap due to the conditions on the track. A good idea as it was terrible, slippery and very wet/muddy, and it remained that way for the entirety.
A fast start led to a couple of small gaps appearing and I jumped the gap knowing things might stick this early. I was right and soon 6 riders went clear of the bunch. Quickly getting into a rhythm we pulled around a minute gap on the bunch and it stayed this way until the finish.
I wasn’t too hopeful in the sprint as my legs were tired after recovering from the cold and a tough training ride the day and morning before the race. So I deemed the best form of defence is attack. The bell rang and I applied some pressure on the front to try and get a gap and solo to the finish. In effect, because of the lack of strength, I didn’t get the gap and ending up being Mr Leadout for another two riders from Team OnForm Racing and one from Wheelbase. What to do? I took a tight line into the last corner which made them go the long way and then opened up my sprint which I managed to hold and go on to the win.
It means a lot to finally get a win after a second and third this season so far marking what has been a long return to something resembling form since a poor winter. Hopefully now the team can build towards a few more top spots for the second half of the season.
Looking forward to the next race, which will be the Nottingham Uni GP, a new one for me and being a short race it could be fireworks from the gun. We then we have the EMRRL event at Harby. Last year I missed the break and came 16th. Hopefully I can improve on that this time round, I like the course so will enjoy it and see what happens.
So stay tuned for another podium from LLB in the near future.
This entry was posted in Race Report. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Geoff goes to Solihull

  1. Geoff says:

    Didn’t know the next podium would be a 1-2 in 4 days time. Let’s go LLB!

    Like

Leave a Reply

